Numero Uno

10 months, numerous trips, several late night tying sessions, and thousands upon thousands of cast, it finally happened. Thats right I landed my first musky on the fly rod.

This fish is so haunting that I have had dreams about it. I really can say that it’s a unique creature that can do crazy things to a person’s heart, mind, and soul.

I might not win any big fish contest but if you see me in person anytime in the near future you better believe your going to be hearing about it.
A musky is a musky regardless if she only taped out at 30in.

I have worked my tail off and there has been no greater reward than what came tonight.

I raised a fish pushing forty inches and ran her into shallow water and she spooked. Not being one to get down I stayed positive. Shortly after (6 cast to be exact) I took two strips and it was on. 2 fish in less than twenty yards. Am I dreaming ? Nope. She came to the net and I had the biggest grin on my face and am still wearing it as I type.

So heres to many more haunting hours chasing the elusive musky !! I can’t wait for numero dos.

~ by Nathan Rees on June 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
